DISQUS

DISQUS Hello!  The comments on this profile are unclaimed and thus are unverified.

Do they belong to you? Claim these comments.

carl.b's picture

Unregistered

Feeds

aliases

  • carl.b

carl.b

2 years ago

in Avoid Clicksor And Security Risks Associated With It. on Vlad Zabblotskyy - A politically Incorrect Blogger
Hi Vlad,
Thanks for the tip-off about using Clicksor. I was about to sign up -- until I saw this post of yours.

Actually, I was considering using another advertising network recently (LookSmart) and when I looked over their site I got the same DriveCleaner "pushy pop-up download" ad.

This is pretty miserable: my site is about computer security (computersecure.net): I would lke to advertise with networks that offer low-cost traffic, but this kind of aggressive "pop-up download" tactic is exactly the kind of thing I warn people about on my site.
The software advertised that way is almost guaranteed to be a "Rogue Program". Its claims to have "scanned your system and found problems" are lies: after all, DriveCleaner claimed to have found problems in my "Windows system" on my LINUX COMPUTER!
( Man! You'd think these people could at least dectect which operating system the bowser is on before displaying their ad! It's not rocket science.)

Anyway, you might like to know that your post here is in the top 7 results on Google for the search term "using clicksor".

By the way, if anyone is unfortunate enough to have installed DriveCleaner, they can go to malwarebytes.org, download a free copy of RogueRemover and clean out the damned thing.

Below is quoted from the database at malwarebytes:

Name: DriveCleaner 2006
Threat Level: High

Description:
DriveCleaner 2006 is a rogue hard drive cleaning utility that is part of the WinSoftware company. This company uses aggressive advertising and drive-by downloads to install software.

Good luck to you and thanks again.

Carl
computersecure.net

2 years ago

in Avoid Clicksor And Security Risks Associated With It. on Sage Blogger
Hi Vlad,
Thanks for the tip-off about using Clicksor. I was about to sign up -- until I saw this post of yours.

Actually, I was considering using another advertising network recently (LookSmart) and when I looked over their site I got the same DriveCleaner "pushy pop-up download" ad.

This is pretty miserable: my site is about computer security (computersecure.net): I would lke to advertise with networks that offer low-cost traffic, but this kind of aggressive "pop-up download" tactic is exactly the kind of thing I warn people about on my site.
The software advertised that way is almost guaranteed to be a "Rogue Program". Its claims to have "scanned your system and found problems" are lies: after all, DriveCleaner claimed to have found problems in my "Windows system" on my LINUX COMPUTER!
( Man! You'd think these people could at least dectect which operating system the bowser is on before displaying their ad! It's not rocket science.)

Anyway, you might like to know that your post here is in the top 7 results on Google for the search term "using clicksor".

By the way, if anyone is unfortunate enough to have installed DriveCleaner, they can go to malwarebytes.org, download a free copy of RogueRemover and clean out the damned thing.

Below is quoted from the database at malwarebytes:

Name: DriveCleaner 2006
Threat Level: High

Description:
DriveCleaner 2006 is a rogue hard drive cleaning utility that is part of the WinSoftware company. This company uses aggressive advertising and drive-by downloads to install software.

Good luck to you and thanks again.

Carl
computersecure.net
Returning? Login